‘12 Years a Slave’ Shines at the Film Independent Spirit Awards

By  March 02, 2014

Hollywood’s final ceremony before the 86th Academy Awards, the Independent Spirit Awards, declared Steve McQueen’s 12 Years a Slave the winningest feature of 2013. It went on to take five honors, including Best Feature and Screenplay, sending its cast and crew to the Oscars on a high note. If the winner’s circle is any further indication, Matthew McConaughey and Dallas Buyers Club co-star Jared Leto have all but won the Oscars’ top male acting categories. For that, we say, alright, alright, alright.


Best Feature
12 Years a Slave


Best Director
Steve McQueen, 12 Years a Slave


Best Screenplay
John Ridley, 12 Years a Slave


Best First Feature
Fruitvale Station


Best First Screenplay
Bob Nelson, Nebraska


Best Cinematography
Sean Bobbitt, 12 Years a Slave


Best Editing
Nat Sanders, Short Term 12


John Cassavetes Award
This is Martin Bonner


Best Female Lead
Cate Blanchett, Blue Jasmine


Best Male Lead
Matthew McConaughey, Dallas Buyers Club


Best Supporting Female
Lupita Nyong’o, 12 Years a Slave


Best Supporting Male
Jared Leto, Dallas Buyers Club


Best Documentary
Morgan Neville, 20 Feet from Stardom


Best International Film
Blue is the Warmest Color


Robert Altman Award


Someone to Watch Award
Shaka King, Newlyweeds


Stella Artois Truer than Fiction Award
Jason Osder, Let the Fire Burn


Piaget Producers Award
Toby Halbrooks and James M. Johnston