Style Setters: Social Media Influencer, Jamie Shupak

By  September 13, 2012

While the majority of New York is asleep, Jamie Shupak is already starting her work day – updating city residents on the day’s commute situation as the traffic reporter for NY 1. Between filming, she’ll regularly update her Twitter feed before heading home and picking up her second major role, as a dating columnist for Complex. Though traffic may be her main focus, Jamie’s used social media to parlay her interests in beauty, fashion, and dating into a multi category influencer.

What is the first social media platform you look at in the morning and the last you check before you go to bed at night?

Twitter, always.

Who are your favorite five to follow?

1. Brian Stelter (@brianstelter): NYT media reporter, also, my boyfriend! Don’t want to leave him off any list and get in trouble.

2. I am a HUGE sports fan, and I couldn’t pick just one: Richard Deitsch (@richarddeitsch) / Adam Schefter (@adamschefter) / Judy Battista (@judybattista) / Drew Magary (@drewmagary)

3. Eva Chen (@evachen212): I’ve recently become obsessed with all things beauty, and she tweets really honestly about products and gives great behind-the-scenes scoop

4. Erika Bearman (@OscarPRGirl): her instagrams of her daily outfits (and rap lyrics) are just the best.

5. Chrissy Teigen (@chrissyteigen): for her sass, her recipes she makes for John, and her beauty tips while on set

What hotspots will you be frequenting this season?

I’m going to try and make it to a bunch of Fashion Week shows/events/parties… but you’re talking to a girl who tries to go to bed by 9 p.m.! Are there fun new hotspots I should know about?

What new platform are you most excited to use during Fashion Week?

Instagram is not new, but absolutely where I get my Fashion Week fix. Each morning I scroll through my feed to check out the shows/parties that went on while I was sleeping. (I have to be up at 3:30 a.m.!) For Fashion Week, it’s all about the pictures. I’ll read about the trends later, but first I want/need to SEE them.

What was your first Tweet?

I don’t know exactly, but definitely a Philly-centric traffic tweet because my account was created (over three years ago now!) when I was the traffic reporter at Fox 29 in Philly. At the time I didn’t realize how social it would be and how many other functions it would have in my life, so it was all traffic, all the time. I still think it’s a great way to get important traffic information to our viewers in a fast, easy-to-digest way.