Young woman in tree pose
Your Guide To How The 7 Major Chakras Impact Your Life
Chakras are said to be whirling centers of energy located along the length of your spine that operate on both a physical and spiritual level, corresponding to your different emotions and organs and purportedly influencing your overall well-being. To achieve sustainable health and happiness, it’s believed that your chakras need to be open and aligned.
Muladhara (Root)
Resting at the base of your spine in the pelvic area, your root chakra, Muladhara, keeps you steady and connected to both your inner and outer world, like the roots of a tree. True to its name, this chakra is tied to many of our most basic needs, including feelings of stability, safety, purpose, and grounding.
Svadhisthana (Sacral)
Svadhisthana sits near your lower back and is associated with desire and creation — both in the sexual sense and in the artistic, inspirational sense. If it is balanced, you’ll supposedly feel in tune with your emotions and impulses, from getting in the flow with creative projects to being confident and proactive in your physical affections.
Manipura (Solar Plexus)
The centrally located Manipura resides just above your belly button. It is a strong well of energy, believed to be connected to your power, productivity, confidence, wisdom, bravery, and anger and can be helpful in tackling challenges or setting necessary boundaries with yourself and others.
Anahata (Heart)
Connected with your very soul, Anahata, your heart chakra, emits its warm energy from the center of your chest. When it is open and balanced, it's believed to support feelings of love, forgiveness, and compassion.